Saturday, October 03, 2015

Keep moving. Nothing to see here!

From the source:
Row 1, left to right: Jason Dale Johnson; Kim Saltmarsh Dietz (right); Lawrence Levine
Row 2, left to right: Lucas Eibel (far right); Lucero Alcaraz (center); Quinn Glen Cooper
Row 3: left to right: Rebecka Ann Carnes; Sarena Dawn Moore; Treven Taylor Anspach

The Douglas County Sheriff’s Office released the names of the nine victims who died:
●Lucero Alcaraz, 19, of Roseburg‬
●Quinn Glen Cooper, 18, of Roseburg
●Kim Saltmarsh Dietz, 59, of Roseburg
●Lucas Eibel, 18, of Roseburg
●Jason Dale Johnson, 33, of Winston‬
●Lawrence Levine, 67, of ‪‎Glide‬, a teacher
●Sarena Dawn Moore, 44, of ‪‎Myrtle Creek‬
●Treven Taylor Anspach, 20, of Sutherlin‬
●Rebecka Ann Carnes, 18, of Myrtle Creek

The victims were as young as 18 :(  What an awful, awful tragedy!


Anne in Salem said...

So much love lost. So much potential.

Ramesh said...

No; we cannot keep moving.

Sriram Khé said...

Yep ... so much lost.
But, now that the college football games have been played, and with the NFL games on the holy Sunday, I bet that except for a few most of the rest of the country has moved on.
The clock has been reset as we begin the countdown to the next mass shooting, which is not a matter of "if" but "when" :(

Zach Jones said...

Well, I think our part of the country will be feeling it for awhile. My parents in Coos Bay have said that locals are pretty panicked right now and are taking extra precautions.

Lucas Eibel and I had a special connection; we were both members of the Ford Scholarship program. Definitely not the way the school year should have started for the US. Do you ever feel afraid walking into a classroom Dr. Khe?

Sriram Khé said...

18 years old and gunned down all because he happened to be there. How awful :(
I can imagine that smaller communities like your hometown will feel this immensely more than what I feel a mere 70 miles away, leave alone in DC or Delhi. Just awful ...
And even more disgusting that we won't do anything, and we will then relive all these emotions all over again after the next one :(

Thanks for asking about me, Zach. I have been thinking about that angle ever since this shooting. I am not afraid. But, I do know that I am not wired for this, given my intense dislike of violence. The commitment to peace is the strength here ... I look forward to going to class on Monday, and on Tuesday, and on ... It will be a gross insult to Lucas Eibel and others if I hesitate even a tad ...

Sriram Khé said...

Of course, gun violence even as a public health issue shall not be discussed in this country, according to the NRA .. which then leads to perverse situations where campuses across the country are beginning to offer training to faculty and staff, similar to what we got in an all-campus email earlier today:
"A.L.I.C.E (Alert, Lockdown, Inform, Counter and Evacuate) educates and empowers individuals to make their own decisions in order to increase the survivability in an active killer situation. Traditional lockdown drills are outdated and have proven ineffective. A.L.I.C.E trained individuals can become leaders to overcome indecision in the event of an active killer situation."

Am sure the blood-stained NRA is very pleased with the cold bureaucratic language of "in order to increase the survivability in an active killer situation." Fuck the NRA!!!!!!!!!!!

Most read this past month